2018 Arnold Classic USA

Matt Lorz

COLUMBUS, Ohio (March 4, 2017) – Cedric McMillan of Heath Springs, South Carolina outlasted fast-rising Dallas “Big Country” McCarver of Blue Goose, Tenn., to win the prestigious Arnold Classic for the first time and finally notch the career-defining victory that has long eluded the popular eight-year IFBB Pro League veteran.

McMillan finished second to Kai Greene last year and had finished in the top 6 in Columbus in each of the past four years,

McMillan received congratulations from Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger, a check for $130,000, a Tony Nowak Official Champions Jacket and the champion’s trophy from Catherine Colle of Midway Labs USA and Jeff Howe of Optimum Nutrition.

McCarver, 25, who many believe is on a fast-track to the top of the sport, received $75,000 and a medal from ROGUE Fitness and BSN.

Maxx Charles, an upstart pro from Huntington, New York, was third and received $50,000 from Muscle & Fitness Magazine and The Columbus Dispatch. Charles was seventh in his Arnold Classic debut in 2016.

Lionel Beyeke of France was fourth and received $30,000 from Animal and Ultimate Nutrition. The finish was his best in three appearances in the Arnold Classic.

Juan “Diesel” Morel of Deer Park, New York was fifth and received $15,000 from Rule One Proteins and Complete Nutrition. Morel was sixth in his Arnold Classic debut in 2016.

Fouad “Hoss” Abiad of Canada, competing in thee Arnold Classic for the fourth time, was sixth and received $10,000 from Muscle Egg and Generation Iron. His previous best finish was 10th in 2013.

Also competing and finishing seventh through 10th, respectively, were Michael Lockett of Cleveland, Ohio; Luke Sandoe of the United Kingdom; Vitaly Fateev of Russia; and Will Harris of Los Angeles, Calif.

Lifetime Achievement Award – Betty Weider

Arnold Sports Festival promoters Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger and James J. Lorimer present a Lifetime Achievement Award to an individual who has made notable contributions to the fitness industry, and offered a lifetime of service to the enhancement of sports performance and promotion. They are proud to announce that the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is Betty Weider.

Mrs. Weider has been at the forefront of health and fitness since the 1960s. She is the co-founder of Shape magazine, the nation’s first and most popular publication for women’s fitness and health. From her long-running articles in industry magazines and her exercise books, Betty has garnered international acclaim for her ability to change women’s perceptions of their bodies. She has been instrumental in helping women understand the importance of a healthy diet in addition to exercise. Along with her husband Joe Weider, Betty has created and maintained a towering legacy in the health and fitness world. The Arnold Sports Festival is honored to recognize her with the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Photo by Oliver Hamlin